OLD SCHOOL COMMONS ANNUAL MEETING

DATE: September 29, 2020

LOCATION: Mixed Meeting. Barbara Hurley and Michael Gove, Trustees, and Donna Golec and Bob Sears, KPM managers meeting in person in Sheehan 305. Zoom Virtual Meeting everyone else.

Attendees:

Chair: Jane Dion

Board: Davin Flatten, Treasurer; Barbara Hurley, Secretary; Michael Gove and Euripedes de Oliveira, Trustees

KPM: Donna Golec, Bob Sears

Community: John Dion, Judith Fletcher, Michelle Rachdorf, Gerrit Stover, Michael Butchen, Jo Cyr-Mutty, Donna Phillips, Jennifer Kmetz, Jackie Minton, Jane Garb, Sara Jonsberg, Edith Daly, Thomas McCarthy, Rocky Allen, Kathleen Coleman, Seneca Rasey, Cristi Lindblom, Caroline Gear, Gina Avayzian, Andy Pauker, Richard Chu, Jeff Palm, Rich Hall, Barbara Hall

1) Call to Order

The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. Donna verified that we had quorum of 56.48%. 51% is required in the bylaws, #5.15, section 2.

2) Welcome

3) Approval of 2019 Annual Minutes

The 2019 annual meeting was held at the Northampton Senior Center on March 11, 2019. Euri made a motion to approve the minutes and Davin seconded the motion. It passed unanimously.

4) OSC Board Report (Jane Dion)

- a) Jane introduced the Board of Trustees, Committee Chairs and KPM Management team.
- b) Jane listed the Board accomplishments and initiatives in 2019 and early 2020. The list is attached to the minutes.
- c) Goals for 2020 and early 2021

Jane listed the Hawley roof repair, the elevator repair/replacement in the Hawley and Sullivan buildings, and continued work on sorting CAM expenses.

5) Property Management Report

- signs outlining Covid-19 precautions as well as No Smoking signs have been posted in all of the buildings and on the grounds.
- new signs have been posted in the trash area
- new gate stop-signs have been posted
- the gates are working and new tags and fobs have been issued to anyone needing them
- Hawley leaks have been repaired and the walls have been repaired
- Hawley roofing is scheduled for October

6) Treasurer's Report (Davin Flatten)

Davin presented a power point program which is attached to the minutes.

7) Recognition of Committee Volunteers

Committees working during the past year are

- 1) Maintenance which has been disbanded
- 2) Parking
- 3) Finance/Amendment 4
- 4) Social

Jane named and thanked all members.

8) Announcement of the result of voting for the proposed amendment regarding virtual meetings.

Advance notice was given to the community regarding the need for this amendment to allow virtual meetings to be held by the Board and for these meetings to be binding. Approval of the amendment was 69.25% **9) Owner's Forum**

Many attendees gave praise and recognition to the Board for its work and openness as well as the time and effort that the Board members have spent in accomplishing its goals for the past 18 months. In particular Jane and Davin, who are leaving the Board, were commended for the work that they had done in uniting the community and balancing the budget as well as overseeing maintenance. These comments were both written in the chat section of the meeting as well as spoken in the video portion of the meeting.

10) Election of Board Members (uncontested)

There was some history shared with the community prior to the announcement of the election results. Euri rescinded his resignation until October28, 2020. This resulted when one of the folks who had indicated a desire to run for an open position withdrew due to new work-related obligations.

Thus, there were two candidates: John Dion received the largest number of votes and will serve the remainder of Jane Dion's term which runs until March, 2023; Michael Butchen will serve the remainder of Davin's term which runs until March, 2021.

11) Election of Board Officers - Chairman, Secretary and Treasury - for new Board

Michael Gove nominated Barbara Hurley for chairperson and John Dion seconded the nomination. Barbara was appointed Chair by acclamation.

Michael Butchen nominated John Dion to be treasurer and Michael Gove seconded the nomination. John Dion accepted without the nomination going to a vote.

John Dion nominated Michael Butchen to be secretary. Euri seconded the nomination and Michael Butchen accepted the position without the nomination going to a vote.

12) Adjournment

The Annual Meeting adjourned at 7:05 p.m. Michael Gove made the motion to adjourn the meeting and Euri seconded.